• Congratulations to the Waterloo girls varsity basketball team for winning its third consecutive Section V championship.

    The top-seeded Tigers defeated Palmyra-Macedon 65-47 on Saturday at Rush-Henrietta to win the Class B1 title.

    Senior Morgan Caraballo scored 22 points to lead Waterloo (22-1) and was named MVP of the tournament. Caraballo was joined on the All-Tournament team by classmates Jazzmyn Lewis (17 points) and Natalie DiSanto (10 points).

    Other members of the team are: Gwyn Panek, Addison Bree, Kamryn Bennett, Katelyn VanNostrand, Emma Ansuini, Tangel Williams, Juliana Pehrson, Maci Mueller, Logan Amidon, Davonti'a Loucks, Khia Moody, McKenzie Scutt and Hannah Harris.

    The team is coached by Mike Bree. Assistant coaches are Keisha Bree, Jose Caraballo, Ethan Pettingill and Jim Panek.

    The Tigers play Class B2 champion Hornell at Penn Yan at 6 p.m. on Tuesday for a spot in the state quarterfinals.